Frequently Asked Questions 

How much experience do I need to have to take this class?

None.  We tailor our classes to the participants.  Even if you have never fired a handgun, we will make sure you are proficient before you leave the class!
 

I think I may have something on my criminal background check that could prevent me from getting my CHL, what can I do?

We conduct a local background check, and if it turns up anything that would prevent you from getting your CHL, we will let you know BEFORE you pay and take the class.  You can also check with the local sheriff's office to see if you will be able to get your CHL.  If you have ever been convicted of a felony, had any domestic violence conviction or pending charges, have ever been subject to a protection order, have ever had a drug offence, or have ever been involuntarily commited to a mental health facility, you will need to have this reviewed by the sheriff and your records sealed. 

Will I get my permit at the end of the class?

No, the only way to get your permit is to apply at your local sheriff's office. At the end of the class you will get a certificate of completion, which you will present at the Sheriff's office when applying to get your permit.
 

How long will it take for me to get my concealed handgun permit once I take this class?

It depends on the Sheriff's office. Franklin county takes about 3-5 days, Licking county can take up to 4 weeks. Contact your local sheriff's office for more information

 

Can I apply for a Florida permit after taking this class? 

Yes, you can apply for a Florida, Non-resident permit. However this has both benefits and drawbacks - please research this carefully and check out the Florida DNR website here. You can also call the Florida Info Center at 1-866-693-6748.

 

What states will honor an Ohio CHL?

 
The list can change - please follow this link to get the most up to date information http://www.buckeyefirearms.org/ohio-ccw-reciprocity-map